The following was sent Mar 25, 2019

April 9th SCC AGM

Spring is in the air and we are getting excited to start the new paddling season. Before we do that we need to wrap up the old one. Our Annual General Meeting will take place at 5:45 p.m. Tuesday April 9th in the downstairs meeting room of J.S. Wood Library (1801 Lansdowne Ave.). There will be pizza!

All executive positions are open for nomination, however we are in particular need of candidates for membership director and member-at-large. The membership director oversees the operation of the online registration and orientation system; works with the executive, club volunteers, and employees to develop and operate the boathouse tour program; and responds to membership-related requests for information. Members-at-large assist the rest of the executive with the management and leadership of the club. As a member-at-large, you can pick which areas/projects to focus your time on according to your interests, availability, and the needs of the club. In recognition of their service to the club, all executive members receive a free membership for the SCC division of their choice in the year following their term served. If you are considering letting your name stand for election to the executive, you are encouraged to contact president@saskatooncanoeclub.orgbefore the AGM.

The full set of documents related to the AGM can be found in this shared folder

Here is the list of the important documents for the meeting:

Agenda including the text of motions requiring advance notice

2018 AGM Minutes

2018 Annual Report

2018 Financial Statements

2019 Budget

2019 Proposed SCC Constitution and Bylaws

Current Agenda:

  1. Registration and pizza/drinks (5:45 p.m.)
  2. Call to order (6:00)
  3. Approval of agenda (6:01)
  4. Acceptance of March 12 2018 AGM minutes (6:03)
  5. Reports by 2018 executive (6:08)
    1. President: Franny Rawlyk
    2. Membership Director: Richard Rance
    3. Social Director: Tiina Liiving
    4. Recreation Director: Eithan Pillipow
    5. Marathon Director: Edith MacHattie
    6. Treasurer: Lauren Erickson
    7. Member-at-Large: John McClean
  6. Review 2018 financial statements / 2019 Budget (6:30)
  7. Discussion and vote on proposed amendments to the SCC constitution and bylaws (7:00)
    1. Motion: That the SCC adopt the revised constitution and bylaws as set out in the document entitled 2019 Proposed SCC Constitution and Bylaws.pdf that was distributed in the information package for this meeting.
  8. Discussion and vote on other advance motions (7:25)
    1. Motion: That the SCC not appoint an auditor for the 2019 fiscal year and instead appoint Gabriel Ng, Chartered Professional Accountant, to conduct a review of the SCC financial records for 2019 in accordance with section 150(4) of The Non-profit Corporations Act, 1995.
  9. Election of 2019 executive (7:30)
    1. President
    2. Secretary
    3. Treasurer
    4. Recreation Director
    5. Marathon Director
    6. Membership Director
    7. Social Director
    8. Recreation Equipment Manager - Canoe
    9. Recreation Equipment Manager - Kayak
    10. Members-at-Large
  10. Adjournment (8:00)